Is VirtualBox Development Dying Out?

According to a Phoronix article:

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=VirtualBox-VM-Features-2015

“It’s been a long time since last hearing of any major innovations or improvements to VirtualBox, the VM software managed by Oracle since their acquisition of Sun Microsystems. Is there any hope left for a revitalized VirtualBox?”

When Oracle bought out Sun Microsystems, I decided to look for alternatives. I have never been a fan of Oracle and I always thought they bought up open source projects to let them die out and stifle competition.

The Phoronix author states:

“It’s sad that VirtualBox is at a standstill given that it supports 3D/OpenGL acceleration for Linux guests, while KVM-based options like Virgil 3D aren’t yet ready for end-users. Deploying VirtualBox is also easy for users and has offered other advantages during its glory days. In fact, VirtualBox is still being used by some companies on Linux systems.”

However, I switched to VMWare Player years ago. It’s easy to setup. It’s free, and it runs very well on my Ubuntu desktop. I also tried it out on Windows 8.1 and it performed well. I could even run some smaller games. 3D acceleration worked just fine for me.

If you are looking for a virtualization product under heavy development, you should really try VMWare.

About computerted

I have been a technology expert since 1984. My aim is to help my local community with technology issues and have some fun blogging. I expect I will learn a great deal over the next few years about blogging and web content. It's always good to keep learning.

Posted on January 31, 2015, in General News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

